• IMG 20170820 120618

  • IMG 20170820 115641
  • IMG 20170806 134840
  • IMG 20170806 124141
  • IMG 20170827 143246
  • Bishop Mathayo Kasagara
  • The people in Sumbawanga who were confirmed in 2017
  • The people in Mishamo Dinary who were confirmed in 2017
  • The people in Mishamo Dinary who were confirmed in 2017
  • The ordination of two new deacons and two new priests


The missionary Diocese of Lake Rukwa (DLR) was carved out of the Diocese of Western Tanganyika and was officially established as a diocese on 13thJune, 2010. It is located in the south western part of Tanzania in the geographical and political regions of Rukwa and Katavi. The Diocese covers three (3) Districts of Katavi region namely Mpanda, Nsimbo and Mlele districts and four (4) districts of Rukwa region namely Nkasi, Sumbawanga Rural, Sumbawanga Municipal and Kalambo districts.  Important features in the diocese include the Katavi National Park, Lake Rukwa and Lake Tanganyika.

The population of the area covered by the diocese is estimated at 1.5m as of the 2012 census. The main ethnic groups include kinga, fipa, bende, konongo, pimbwe, ha, sukuma, ndali, and hutu who are mainly refugees from Burundi.



P.O. Box 293 | Mpanda , Katavi | United Republic of Tanzania | Phone:+255 784 958 866 | Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Mighty Free Joomla Templates by MightyJoomla